Ali Perez

“Teacher for 20 years, Taking on new students, please email me at;, or at”
71 lessons
100% response rate
56 mins response time

My tutoring approach

My teaching method focuses on providing a comfortable environment for my students to learn in. I aim to provide various means to get my point across to students, whether it is graphically, exercises or past exam questions, this provides a wider scope of understanding for the student. I am also very interested to know what the topics are being studied at school or University, and support this with exercises and more challenging questions in my lessons. I relish the opportunity to teach and I always motivate and encourage my students to improve further. Having taught students of many age groups and backgrounds, I understand and accept that lessons need to be taught differently to different people. Using the internet as means of conducting my tuition online has allowed for me to reach and educate students from a greater array of educational backgrounds Therefore my adaptability is paramount in order to provide my students a comfortable environment in which to study in.

Professional experience

Tutoring experience: 20+ years

JFS School | Brent, London

Secondary school Teacher

•Providing suppport to highly able and accelerated students on the Autistic Spectrum with anxiety

• Presently teaching subject areas such as English, Spanish and Sociology GCSE

Hammersmith, Fulham and Brent Council | London September 2008 – November 2016 English Tutor

•Independant lesson preparation in order to fulfil social services educational prerequisites of the particular child .

• Microsoft Excel, academic evaluations and correspondence with Social Services

•Taught the following Cambridge qualifications of , PET, FIRST and Cambridge Advance Online to foreign students and English GCSE

Vincente La Canada Institute London

Spanish/ English Teacher September 2006 – July 2008

• Organisation of levels and class groups and of teaching adults English

•Taught English at a Primary level, to expatriate Spanish children in class and online.

International House Madrid , April 2000 – July 2005 English Teacher

•Taught English as a Foreign language to adults, I encompassed the IELTS, TOEFL, FIRST,

•Classwork preparation, marking and classroom management skills

Organisation of class group excursions to provide an interactive variation of my teaching, using online classrooms to conduct my lessons

•Taught Business English to students working in the finance sector for companies

•Online tuition via Skype for students preparing their Cambridge examinations


  • 2009 - 2015 PHD in Sociology
  • London Metropolitan University
  • 2010- Mary Ward Center, London
  • ECDL 2 (European Computer Driving License)
  • 2005 - 2009 London Metropolitan University
  • BSC (Honors) Criminology/ Sociology - grade 2:1
  • Modules Quantitative & Qualitative research techniques, Criminal law, Sociological analysis on trends in crime and the treatment of Offenders and policing methodologies, Trends in Society & Crime Control
  • Work Placement: British Transport Police; my role was as a tutor for Community Support Officers and Police from ethnic minorities. Final year project the effects of the global media on crime
  • 2004 - International House Certificate, Teaching Spanish to Adults, Madrid
  • 2002 - Certificate in English Language Teaching To Adults (CELTA)
  • Course number; C11, Madrid.


This calendar shows my availability.



Have a look at what other people are saying about me...

Back to top